Beauty, Celebration, Fashion

What I Got for Christmas 2014!

Hello lovelies!

The holiday season has come and gone and now that we are well into January, I am finally past the food comas, incessant carol singing, and obsessive Christmas movie watching that plagues me from November 1 to December 25 every year.

This year, the dark and gray Seattle weather really bogged me down—I have officially acclimated to the Southern California sun and warmth so spending time back in the PNW during Christmas breaks is particularly painful. But now that I’ve woken from my deep post-holiday hibernation, I can finally deliver my WHAT I GOT FOR CHRISTMAS 2014! post.

I know a lot of people preface these posts and videos with a disclaimer (“I’m not bragging, the holidays are about spending time with family, etc.”) but I almost feel that that, somehow, can be insincere. Not because you’re bragging if you make a post like this, but because the reason why people like hauls and “What I Got For ___” videos is because we like showing off cool things we got, and we like knowing what other people got. So that being said, I hope you like seeing some of the things I was blessed with this year!

20150107-195154.jpg

Many of the things I was gifted with this year were from Sephora (because you can never go wrong with getting a girl a present from Sephora, am I right?).

20150107-195312.jpg

The first is the Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz in Dark Brown. It’s my second ever eyebrow pencil, the first being one I bought during my early high school years, before it was really trendy to do your eyebrows, in the color blackest black. Long story short, it made me look like the dad from The O.C.

20150107-195329.jpg

But I love the Anastasia Brow Wiz in Dark Brown (I have undyed black Asian hair, for your reference). It looks so natural, is easy to apply, and the brush on the end is useful if you’re traveling and don’t want to pack extra brushes for your brows.

20150107-195335.jpg

I wasn’t sure at first if this color was dark enough or if I needed a darker shade, but after trying them both out at Sephora, I thought the dark brown looked more natural.

20150107-195320.jpg

Instead of creating a bold brow, it creates a sort of sun-kissed soft look, which I liked. I’m not yet bold enough to pull off the statement brow. After hearing all of the beauty YouTubers talk about this product and brand so much, I was beyond stoked to try it out!

20150107-195346.jpg

Next is the Kat Von D Trooper Eyeliner. I haven’t tried it on my eyes yet but I’ve also heard good things about this product. It was one that I hadn’t even considered buying, so I’m thrilled that it was given to me as a present and that I get to try it out!20150107-195358.jpg

The tip is really fine and the ink held really well when I tested it on my hand. It only budged when I scrubbed with soap and water, but water and rubbing alone didn’t cause it to run or fade.20150107-195407.jpg

The Anastasia Brow Wiz in Dark Brown is on the left and the Kat Von D Trooper Eyeliner is on the right. I applied the lines with varied degrees of pressure to show you the difference!

20150107-195415.jpg

Next up were two awesome shades of MAC lipsticks. I only own one other MAC lipstick and the rest of mine are drugstore brands, so it was a real treat to receive these two beauties!

20150107-195434.jpgThe first color is a bright red Frost shade in Viva Glam Rihanna 1 and I am in LOVE. It has bluer undertones than my other red MAC lipstick and I never knew how much of a difference it makes. It looks great as a winter red, although I will probably have to buy a lip liner to put under this as it did feather into my lip lines after a few hours of wearing it.

20150107-195443.jpg

The next is a nearly nude, meaning it goes on similar to my lip color. It’s a Lustre in Syrup and I was inspired to ask for this color because I saw Ingrid Nilsen talk about it in one of her vlogs and instantly fell in love with the way it looks! I’ve never had a shade this light–my lips are a bit darker naturally so sometimes lighter colors make me look sick or pale–but I really enjoy this color as my new winter nude and it goes really well with light frosty eyes! If you ask me, it looks like a spring day in Paris…C’est cool!

20150107-195450.jpg

Above are the two swatches of those lip colors.

20150107-195501.jpg

Lastly, I got a bunch of awesome skincare items!

20150107-195507.jpg

I got two Seacret lotions, one for hands and one for body, and I absolutely adore the Seacret products. They’re made with minerals from the Dead Sea and the Milk & Honey Body Lotion smells so yummy! They’re a pricier skincare product so it is a real luxury to receive these!

20150107-195515.jpg

And finally, I got this Aveda Botanical Kinetics Intense Hydrating Rich Creme. I haven’t used it yet but I have had extremely bad skin problems as of late (uneven skin tone, really dry patches, and red blotches). I think it may be due to California’s pollution because my skin has cleared up being back home in the Northwest, but I know it also has to do with the face products I’ve been using and the drying effect of harsh chemicals. I’m excited to take this back down to school with me to try it out on my skin!

I got a few other things from friends and loved ones that I’m not showing here–not because I didn’t adore them, but because I don’t want to show money or gift cards and I wanted to keep in the theme of beauty and cosmetics–but I am so thankful to everyone who thought of me during the holidays and spent time celebrating the end of 2014 with me!

I did buy a few things with some of the Christmas money and gift cards I received, and I will be showing those in my next post as a haul! (Post-Christmas Haul Part 1 here and Part 2 here.)

Also, I love being snoopy and hearing what other people got for Christmas (I think I’ve watched at least 20 “What I Got for Christmas” videos in these past couple weeks), so let me know in the comments what you got (or gave)!

Hope you all had a wonderful holiday season!

Cheers,

Ashley

Standard

2 thoughts on “What I Got for Christmas 2014!

Leave a Reply

